Hans Tutschku

Klaviersammlung has been performed in Birmingham, Boston, Brussels, Buenos Aires, Cologne, Essen, Houston, La Monnerie-le-Montel, Lisbon, Mexico City, Montréal, New York City, Nîmes, São Paulo, Sheffield, Stanford and Strasbourg…

To Christoph von Blumröder

The idea for Klaviersammlung developed over several years. Each time I visited the Universität zu Köln (University of Cologne, Germany), I was impressed by the long hallway between the musicology department and the concert hall, which houses an impressive collection of desolate pianos from different centuries, charged with musical remembrances. One walks with respect, almost on tiptoes along them, to not disturb their dreams of a better past. Many times I thought about how their sounds could become the source material for a new composition. In July 2011, I finally spent some hours and elicited quite ‘un-pianistic’ sonic expressions from some of the instruments. A large spectrum of those played sequences, together with their transformations, became the starting point for an outrageous sound travel into the sonic world of piano.


Klaviersammlung was realized in 2011 at Harvard University Studio for Electroacoustic Composition (HUSEAC) (Cambridge, MA, USA) and premiered on October 28, 2011 at the Musiksaal of the Universität zu Köln (Germany).


  • October 28, 2011, Raum-Musik: Concert-surprise, Musiksaal — Universität zu Köln, Cologne (Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany)



Klaviersammlung (2011), 9:53
16-channel fixed medium



Date Work Program
August 3, 2015 Hans Tutschku, Klaviersammlung (2011), 9:53 O Domínio dos Deuses / Rádio Universitária do Minho (Portugal)
November 6, 2015 Hans Tutschku, Klaviersammlung (2011), 9:53 The Sound Projector Radio Show: Weather Map / Resonance 104.4 FM (UK)
February 22, 2016 Hans Tutschku, Klaviersammlung (2011), 9:53 Acoustic Frontiers / CKCU 93.1 FM (Canada)
January 13, 2017 Hans Tutschku, Klaviersammlung (2011), 9:53 Martian Gardens #871 / Global Community Radio Channel 2 (USA)
April 28, 2018 Hans Tutschku, Klaviersammlung (2011), 9:53 Futurissimo / Netkultura.cz (Czech Republic)
April 29, 2018 Hans Tutschku, Klaviersammlung (2011), 9:53 Futurissimo: Německá elektroakustická hudba současnosti / Český rozhlas (Czech Republic)
August 11, 2019 Hans Tutschku, Klaviersammlung (2011), 9:53 Futurissimo / Netkultura.cz (Czech Republic)